Skip to content

Emerald Blue Reversable Cable Scarf

September 23, 2007

This is a close up shot of a great scarf pattern that was made with two skeins of Malabrigo yarn. It is a reversible cable pattern that is very easy and looks great with this yarn. It was written by an employee of The Custom Shop in Maine and was given away free.  Click here for a free PDF.

I posted it because I thought you might enjoy trying the Reversible Cable Scarf pattern yourself. Please do not sell it or use for profit.

Yarn: Worsted weight yarn. I used 2 skeins of Malabrigo at 216 yards per skein. Gauge: 4-5 stitches per inch with needles 7-9 U.S. (I used size 8 for mine)

C3B: Slip next 3 sts to cable needle and hold in back, knit 3 stitches, knit 3 stitches from cable needle.

Cast on 48 stitches.

Row 1: k9, (p6,k6) 3 times, k3

Row 2: k3, (p6,k6) 3 times, p6, k3

Row 3: k3, (C3B, p6) 3 times, C3B, k3

Row 4: Same as Row 2

Row 5: Same as Row 1

Row 6: K3, (p6, C3B) 3 times, p6, k3

Repeat rows 1-6 to desired length or until you run out of yarn. Bind off. Do not bind off too loosely because the end wants to ruffle a bit.

Comment: I think if I do it again I may do a few rows of straight knitting on either end to see if that stabilizes the ends. Although, I am not sure it really matters, because it is a lovely scarf.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. September 23, 2007 7:32 am

    Wow – that’s an amazing pattern!

  2. Nettie permalink
    September 23, 2007 4:46 pm

    Hi sleepknitting,
    Thanks for your interest. I located the pattern and have updated the post. Hope you see this and try the pattern. Let me know how it works for you. – Nettie

  3. February 24, 2009 2:45 am

    Love this pattern. I started out with the scarf and because of the combo of needle and the yarn, it was stiff and I didn’t want to rip it, so I added a sling for Ajax’s belly and picked up stitches and made a little mock turtle neck. He looks so cute and when it is cold he stands patiently for gettting into it.
    Thank You so much for this pattern, I hae used it a couple more times, sally

  4. June 16, 2009 6:41 pm

    Thank you so much for the cable pattern. I will gather up my courage and give it a go.

    Will keep up informed as to my progress.

    Thank you again.

    Joan Griffin Rusk

  5. Carol Warriner permalink
    January 24, 2011 8:21 pm

    I have the chunky cable wrist warmers pattern and i dont know if theres a mistake in it. I dont understand where it says Rnd 1 (baby cable) k2tog but keep on needle, k first st and drop both knitted stitches. If you drop the sts. it will unravel. Can you explain how to do it.
    Carol

  6. Nettie permalink*
    January 30, 2011 12:34 pm

    When you k2tog normally you drop them from the needle after. This just has you delaying dropping the stitches so that you can knit the first stitch of the two you just knit together. The two stitches you just put on the right needle will be holding the two stitches you will be dropping. Hope this helps.–Nettie

  7. November 26, 2011 4:21 pm

    Thank you for the pattern!! Have been trying to find an easy cable pattern for days! I’ve just learnt to knit cables… Don’t know why it’s taken me so long to actually look it up and work out how it’s done! But the fear has been overcome and I’m ready to start my first cable knit project. I’ve just done the first 6 rows. Amazingly simple! I’m making the scarf for my friend who is leaving the UK to go home to NZ. I really hope she likes it. Thank you again for posting the pattern!

  8. Nettie permalink*
    November 27, 2011 7:44 pm

    You are very welcome. I am sure she will love the scarf you are making her.–Nettie

  9. Kim W. permalink
    December 19, 2011 11:26 am

    How wide and long is the completed scarf using the two skeins? I also agree that a few rows of ribbing on either end helps stabilize and keep the ends from flaring. Thank you for sharing…this will be on my needles lickety split!

  10. Sally M Cutner permalink
    October 18, 2016 11:26 pm

    Have saved your pattern as a PDF, I used it 9 years ago for a dog sweater. Have a smaller dog now and am sweating out the measurements and etc. Beautiful scarf. Sally

  11. Kathy Chassin permalink
    October 24, 2016 8:59 am

    Love Nettie’s helpful comments

Trackbacks

  1. Mom’s Christmas Scarf « AlohaBlu

Leave a Reply

