Skip to content

Corinthian Shawl

November 25, 2007

Happy Sunday. Back to work tomorrow! 😦

This week I finished my Sockotta Hand Warmers finally finishing off the pink/orange/yellow striping colorway that I lost my head about and bought two balls of. So two pairs of socks and one pair of long wrist/hand warmers later, I am finally done with that yarn. Part of my attitude toward the yarn is boredom, but also it is uncomfortable yarn to knit with due to the cotton content. It does make excellent light-weight wrist/hand warmers though, and I do still like the colors. This was knit in the same manner as the green ones posted earlier with the exception that I started from the hand and knit up the wrist so that I could go until I ran out of yarn. (See how much I wanted to use all that yarn.) This is a great way to use up yarn left over from a pair (or two) of socks.

Today I finished a new homespun shawl using the Corinthian color from Lion Brand. It took me around a week. Although I probably spend too much time at it and almost caused my right shoulder to have a tendinitis flare up. Good thing I can knit (not purl) continental with my left hand and was able to persevere. 🙂 It was a very simple shawl and was done as follows:

I don’t care for the point but want a tapered shawl, so I took a size 11 circular needle and cast on 50 stitches. Row 1 – knit across. Row 2 – knit 1, yarn over, knit across. Repeat row 2 until there are 170 stitches on the needle. Cast off loosely by using a size 13 needle. This shawl takes a little over 2 skeins and makes a comfortably large shawl. You could just knit until you run out of the 2 skeins and have a slightly smaller shawl.

pc011291a-small.jpg

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

