Skip to content

Define shopping spree

April 19, 2008

I think I may be a yarn-a-holic. I have been fine for literally months and months but after buying the knitting needles last week it has been all downhill. I think those needles were the one “drink” that set me off. I fought it but, the slide started last night when I ordered 1 itty bitty little skein of Lime & Violet Mermaid sock yarn from The Loopy Ewe called Rhythm & … I have no idea what the name means but the yarn looks gorgeous. Plus you’ll never get to be a loopy groupie by adding things to your wish list.

Moving right along, and on a roll, I went on to hit Webs. I wanted to make a baby blanket for our neighbors who just had a baby boy. I have a great pattern for a smallish blanket using 4 balls of Plymouth Encore Worsted. I like to get the Colorspun in baby colors. That would have been just fine if I hadn’t wandered into the Encore Worsted section that is on sale. After spending a little time in Excel and making use of some creative formulas, I determined that I could make a decent sized adult blanket for 10 balls. (Well they are on sale.) So 14 balls and 2800 yards later, I got the heck out of that site.

Here is a picture of the baby blanket I have already made:

Today I thought it was over and the addiction was fed enough to let me take a break. Wrong. Lunch was late today; I lost my head got hypoglycemic and wandered into Knit Picks from my Ravelry account. Blindsided! Harmony 13″ and 15″ options tips fell into my cart along with 24″ cables. I think there were #4 needles a ball of yarn and harmony cable needles involved too. Right now it’s a bit of a blank but I know my discover card was employed. Again.

On the needles: Still working on the Mystic Kelp socks both are done with the gusset decreases. This picture was taken yesterday shortly before that stage.

By the way, it’s spring!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

