Skip to content

No Purl Monkey Socks

May 18, 2008

Well it has clouded up outside and it appears that we are going to be in for a bit of rain.  Fortunately, not before I finished my Sockotta No Purl Monkey Socks and had a sunny photo shoot.  These are the no purl version of Monkey Socks by Cookie A. They actually knit up pretty quickly (probably because of all the knitting instead of purling).

Here’s what they look like on:

and a close up of the stitch pattern:

Since I had trouble automatically converting the p’s to k’s in the original directions, I rewrote the lace instructions. Here they are for the convenience of anyone with a similar issue:

Lace Pattern
(Worked in the round over a multiple of 16 sts):
Round 1: K all sts.
Round 2: K all sts.
Round 3: K3, k2tog, k3, yo2, k3, ssk, K3 to end.
Round 4: K8, k1 tbl, k7 to end.
Round 5: K2, k2tog, k3, yo, k2, yo, k3, ssk, k2 to end.
Round 6: K all sts.
Round 7: K1, k2tog, k3, yo, k4, yo, k3, ssk, k1 to end.
Round 8: K all sts.
Round 9: K2tog, k3, yo, k6, yo, k3, ssk to end.
Round 10: K all sts.
Round 11: K all sts.

Repeat Rounds 1-11 for Lace Pattern.

Hope you all find this helpful.

Now I am in that awkward between projects stage.  Trying to decide what to start next…  I want something that is portable and can be worked on when it’s too warm to knit on the blanket.  I am also planning on knitting a Tangerine Twist sweater in Rose Bisque.  I have the yarn and everything.  I am just waiting on my Harmony needle tips from Knit Picks to get here.  I was hoping for yesterday – but no luck.  Problem – still not too portable.  Guess it’s socks.  Fortunately I have stash for that. 🙂

8 Comments leave one →
  1. cindy permalink
    June 16, 2008 12:20 pm

    Just wanted to say thank you for posting the lace pattern for the no-purl Monkeys! I was having a mental block trying to convert in my head and went online to see if someone had done it for me. Stumbled upon your blog. You are a lifesaver! Thanks again!

  2. February 21, 2009 2:26 am

    Thanks from me, too, for publishing the no-purl pattern. I love this version of the monkeys, but wasn’t totally sure I understood the changes. Now I am. Thanks!

  3. ladymissjme permalink
    March 23, 2009 5:28 pm

    these are so cute!

  4. Julie Huntsman permalink
    May 31, 2014 11:00 pm

    Thanks so much for writing out the directions. I am fairly new to knitting and this helps tremendously

Trackbacks

  1. Anne-Ruths hobbyblogg » Blog Archive » Summer mood
  2. Anne-Ruths hobbyblogg » Blog Archive » No purl Monkey Socks
  3. Teacher’s convention…ugh… « My Life as I Know it!
  4. WIP Wednesday 04/22/09 « Karen Squared

Leave a Reply

