Skip to content

Sweater finished

August 10, 2008

When last I wrote I was on a sweater break.  I did get tired of making yarn balls when the only scrap yarn I had was 100% acrylic and was grossing me out.  I can’t believe that was the only yarn I used to knit with.  I would probably still be an off and on knitter, if the internet and now Ravelry hadn’t open my eyes to the possibilties and options out in the world.  Now I am addicted, and fussy about my yarn.  The other day someone offered me a bag of yarn, that I could tell at a glance was acrylic, based on the well known brand, and I couldn’t bring myself to take it.  It was very sweet of her to think of me, but I just couldn’t do it.  I would have been taking it to either give away myself or throw out once I determine the extent of the brown spots I also noticed.

Well, I did finished the Rose Bisque Sweater but before that I also made some more washcloths from Lion Cotton Ease:

Also off the needles is a sack I made from Lion Cotton Ease to carry my sock knitting in.  I am not thrilled with how the draw string works and may use something else but the bag is, in my humble opinion, cute.

With the left over Cotton Ease, I made a Ice Pack Cozy for my lunch bag.

Last weekend I did, indeed, finished the sweater.  I was a bigger project for me and is, actually, the first sweater i have ever hand knitted for myself.  I have made a couple of machine knitted ones in worsted weight that I never actually wore very much.  This one is lighter and I may actually wear it with enjoyment.  Not actually thrilled with pink, but my husband likes it.

I did add a few details of my own by knitting lace trim on the sleeves and hem and crocheting an edging for the neckline.  The original pattern used several novelty yarns and I think the pattern relied on that and there was no provision for trim or ribbing of any kind.

Hem and sleeve trim.

Neckline trim;

What’s up now?  I am working on a pattern I am knitting as a participant in the Ravelympics on Ravely.  I am on Team Blue Moon and and participating in the SocK Put event.  I had a bit of a set back today, when I had to frog my socks and start over, but I am optimistic that I will still finish them before the end of the Olympics. 🙂

I hope to turn the following Blue Moon yarn into a cool pair of socks:

Have a great week.

Nettie

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 11, 2008 8:02 am

    Yes, you are right — the bag is perfect! And I really like the sweater — the neck, sleeve, and hem detailing are just the right touch!

Leave a Reply

