Skip to content

On designing a new pattern

October 19, 2008

I belong to the Malabrigo Junkies group on Ravelry and they are having assorted contests concerning Malabrigo.  One of the contests that challenged me, was to design a pattern that uses no more than a skein of Malabrigo.  I was aware of this contest for a while, and while lots of stuff percolated in my brain, I found that, as much as I may want to, I cannot design on demand.  It gives me a headache.  I also realized that the best stuff I have done, in my opinion, have just “come to me”.  Certainly a commentary on the infinite nature of the universe.

While I was waiting for a Malabrigo caliber idea, I warmed up with the Autumn Moss Mitts mentioned previously in this blog.  While I really like them, and in fact am wearing them now because the house is 63 degrees, I couldn’t picture them in Malabrigo.

There I was, noodling around with a vauge idea for socks, when the idea I wanted hit me.  Top to bottom and side to side.  I needed to find out how to do a couple of things to make it work but in essense I came up with a fingerless glove design that features a Latvian style twist cuff; twisted cable ribs define the gusset; 4-stitch cable is maintained on the outside of the hand as a design element; and a picot bind off complements the Latvian style twist cuff.  Whew.

Introducing Autumn Twist Fingerless Gloves.  The pattern is written and is being tested.  I will post when the pattern is published and available in pdf format.

and of course my favorite view

Then I took them to Wilson Farm in Lexington.

So that’s it for now.  Back to work tomorrow.  It’s been a creative vacation week for me.  I called it my Knitting Retreat but reality is knocking and bills need to be paid.

Thanks for stopping by and reading my blog.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

