Skip to content

Aunt Helen’s Hat

November 17, 2008

Yes another story about another knitted item for Aunt Helen.  I couldn’t help myself, she is just so sweet and so tickled to have someone make something for her.

It all started with the draft dodger.  I bought fabric (last winter) to make her a draft dodger and never got around to it before spring.  This year my resolve was renewed and I made not only one draft dodger out of that piece of fabric but five.  What I am going to be doing with five of the things? Which by the way were no treat to sew closed on the sewing machine once filled with kitty litter.  Just think about what can happen when your husband gives it a jaunty flip and a seam pops open.  Well I don’t have to imagine anything since I experienced it in real life.  In the living room.

So, yes, Aunt Helen got her handy dandy double seamed draft dodger and so did my mother in law.  Neither of whom, can know that the other one got one.  That’s a story I haven’t gotten to the bottom of yet.  She was very happy with the draft dodger but was hoping the mystery present my husband was bringing over was a hat.  She wanted gray to go with her navy blue coat and her red coat.  So thus was born Aunt Helen’s Dean Street Hat made with Polar Morn Malabrigo Worsted ordered from Webs.  The brim was my own idea.  Since you can never get just one, I got two and am working on a pattern to make a matching neck warmer.

img_0669ac50

Recent cast ons include a Moebius Cowl by Cat Bordhi.  I was obsessed with making one since I saw her demonstrating her cast on on Knitty Gritty and the final straw was when I saw her video linked from the Yarn Harlot’s Ravelry Group.  Knit Picks agreeably sent me a 47″ cable for my Options and I was able to cast on with some Lorna’s Laces last night.  Got to go work on that now.

Thanks for stopping bye.  Have a great week.

No comments yet

Leave a comment