Skip to content

Hello again

December 13, 2008

Wow.  I just looked and it seems it’s been a couple of weeks since I posted.  No story today unless something comes to mind, just a little run down on the knitting.  Before I really get started I just want to make a little shout out to my loving Aunt Libby and my cousin Bunny.  Hi and I hope you are having a great holiday season.

I have been working on a matching neck warmer for the Dean Street hat I made for Aunt Helen.  Since a pattern for this does not, to the best of my knowledge, exist, I have been making up my own pattern.  It was finished on November 30th and is recovering from it’s blocking session as I write this.  We picked up the buttons last week at Albion Beads in Wakefield, MA.  Pictures have not been taken yet but will be as soon as conditions are favorable.

On the finished list I have a pair of silky fetchings that I made for myself.  I made other gloves first (on commission) and had to test knit my twisted design before I could get around to making the pair I wanted for use at work.  Somehow the office doesn’t feel like the place for bright purple gloves.  I think these are much more dignified for the office.

img_0689ac50

I also finished my first Moebius Cowl.  I have been wanted to make one for a couple of years but never had a circular needle long enough.  Finally my Harmony Options selections included the right size cord and needle tips and I was able undertake the project.  It was definitely a little tricky doing Cat Bordhi’s cast on and getting started from there, but I like the results and an planning on making another when I can.

img_0695ac50

I have been having quite a battle getting a scarf done for my secret santa person at work.  I did a little sleuthing and discovered that she likes pink and I had this idea for a scarf that I thought would be really interesting.   Trying to find the right pink yarn in a store around here (and this time of year) was difficult and unsuccessful.  I had to order it from Webs and while the yarn came in very timely it was not the right yarn for this project.  I tried multiple times and the Karaoke just didn’t want to be an inside outside scarf.  Ended up making a Child’s Rainbow Scarf which I liked because it was a little skinny and used all the yarn.  It does not look like a rainbow with this yarn but the pink and grey both transition into different shades so it is interesting.

img_0698ac50

The stitch pattern is called a mistake rib.  This is what it looks like up close.

img_0701ac50

I guess that’s enough project talk for now.  Time to put in some links to this post and get ready for dinner.

Thanks for stopping by and checking out my little blog.

Happy Holidays,

Nettie

One Comment leave one →
  1. bunkinsknits permalink
    December 28, 2008 10:24 pm

    Wow, you have been a busy girl. How do you find time to take all the pictures to go with your wonderful postings. I just seem to get things finished and off out the door they go. I guess I need to do a better job of keeping track of my projects, but it seems that as soon as I start one I am compelled to get it completed and out. I haven’t even found much time to do this months post. You are a wonderwoman at heart. Hope you had a great Christmas and have a Safe and Happy New Year.
    Bunny

Leave a Reply

