Skip to content

Christmas Pi Dishcloth

January 5, 2009

I have been hearing a lot lately on pod casts about Pi Shawls.  People are talking about these I guess as viable winter projects but it’s a bit daunting for me because they are lace, and therefore, require blocking.  Minimal space for that and I really don’t want to try to block a Pi Shawl by doing a quarter of it at a time.  I can however, make a Pi Dishcloth…

IMG_1166ac

Used the pi shawl formula as follows:
Cast on 9; join; knit 1 round; k1, yo around (18 stitches); knit 3 rounds in pattern of choice; k1, yo around (36 stitches); knit 6 rounds in pattern of choice; k1, yo around (72 stitches); knit 12 rounds in pattern of choice. Bind off loosely. Use cast on tail and tighten up the center if you wish. Weave in ends.

One effective way to bind off loosely is to: k2 and * insert left needle into the front of both right stitches and knit. (Just like the last part of an ssk). K1 and repeat from *.

(For the 6 round set I knit two rounds; k3,p3 for two rounds and back to straight knitting for two rounds.  For the 12 round set I basically did a k2, p2 pattern and switched to p2, k2 after two rows and back again after two rows.  I was going for bumpy.)

PDF can be downloaded here.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. January 24, 2009 8:56 pm

    Nettie, thank you for making this pattern so enjoyable to knit. I have made 6 of this already and they’re all over the house. Dishcloth, washcloth, even as a doily! These are so cute! And you can play with the stitches too. Believe me, I am using up every little bit of cotton yarn I have, all the leftovers.

  2. Nettie permalink*
    January 25, 2009 12:52 pm

    Thanks for letting me know how much fun you are having. I think it kind of liberating. A few rules and have fun!

    Regards,
    Nettie

  3. March 14, 2009 9:44 am

    Great idea! Thank you for sharing. 🙂

  4. Chris permalink
    April 2, 2011 3:56 am

    I’d been intimidated by Pi shawls, but when your Pi Dishcloth pattern turned up in my 2011 Knitting Calendar, I couldn’t resist trying it. I had so much fun knitting it, and it turned out so pretty. What a great way to use up those bits of leftover dishcloth cotton! I’ll be posting a picture early next week on Ravelry, where you’ll find me as mrsmouse. Thank you for sharing this! I love it!

  5. June 5, 2012 5:59 am

    really helpful stuff, all round I picture this is worthy of a bookmark, thank you

Leave a Reply

