Skip to content

Good Service

May 30, 2009

So this morning, I went to the dentist, and that went pretty much routinely except as I was leaving, my trusty Durango didn’t start.  Prior to this, I knew something was wrong and reported that it was starting funny and that it must be the battery.  However, because it wasn’t personally witnessed by the husband, there wasn’t too much urgency attached to the situation.

So I called him.

Me:  Joey (that’s the Durango) won’t start.

Hubby:  What’s he doing?

Me:  Nothing he won’t start.  He just sits here and clicks.  What are you going to do about it.  (After all.  He was warned)

Hubby:  Call Good Sams.

Me:  I don’t have the new card with me.

[What followed was a lively discussion of the fact that he told me to put the new card in my wallet.   I told him that his tendancy to do the “I told you so” thing was one of his least attractive features.  Sadly that didn’t stop him.]

Hubby:  Be there in a few minutes.  It sounds like it could be the starter but I hope it’s the battery.

[I then called Good Sam’s, and reasoning that if the account was up to date, then the old card might not be an issue, and attempted to arrainge help.  What followed was a very difficult conversation with Good Sam’s because well I have the hardest time hearing women’s voices on the phone, and it was made even worse by the traffic rushing by on the street.  We muddled along with a lot of whats on both sides until my hubby showed up.  I handed off the phone, and attempted to regain my tranquility.]

A short time later the phone rings.  A (thankfully) male voice states that he is Larry from M & S Towing (so that’s what she said!) and he would be there shortly.  In a remarkable short time Larry shows up and gives a listen and states, “battery”.  He jump starts the truck; nextels his boss to check battery costs; and sends us to M & S Service for a new battery.

We get to M & S Service.  A bay was open for us;  Bruce says, “pull right in folks”;  a battery was sitting there wrapped in plastic; the old one was wisked out; the new one wisked in; credit card swiped; and we were sent on our way with a friendly, “We’re here for you.”  

I was absolutely very, very impressed with the level of service we were given.  I am sure that getting this level of service will bring us back.  However, being only human, I kept thinking about how much I liked saying, “I told you so” to my hubby.  He took it like a man.

Nettie

P.S.  For the record, this was a timing issue.  My husband was planning to have the battery checked this afternoon.  He does listen.  The big sweetie.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

