Skip to content

Rough day

August 15, 2009

Yesterday was a rough day.  On the way to work I had a car accident.  The other driver pulled out of a gas station from my right side apparently making a left hand turn exactly when there was no possibility of my stopping in time.  Her first words were, “I thought you were letting me go!”.  My thoughts, “How could I possibly be letting you go, when I was so close I couldn’t stop in time?”.  I am still getting flashes of that sickening feeling that you get when something like that happens.  I wonder how long the wincing will last.

To add insult to injury, we were supposed to leave tomorrow for a camping trip to Maine for a week.  A week that is shaping up to be one of the best weather weeks of the summer.  Granted we will have the same good weather here, but it’s just not going to be the same when your tow vehicle is now undrivable and stuck in the depths of a body shop waiting for an insurance adjuster.

Because I was on vacation next week, and no matter how shaky I felt, I needed to go to work and finish up a few things.  My husband brought me, and I still feel bad at how I had to call him and turn his “happy to hear from you” voice into one of worry.  Even though it wasn’t my fault, I feel pain that his trip was ruined too.  Everyone at work was wonderful to me and it reminds me anew about how much I like working with them.  I can’t tell you how many people were offering suggestions on how I could get a tow vehicle to use for camping.  Unfortunately, it’s not just getting a tow vehicle, but one that is up to pulling our trailer and that has the right towing package installed for proper braking.   I finally finished up my stuff around 7:30 and my husband picked me up.

So now I am trying to shake it all off and wishing that I didn’t give my Durango a personality, gender, and name.  It been fun hobby most of the time but now it’s become a habit.   I find myself wondering how “Joey” is, and wincing at the memory I have of him leaking pink radiator fluid onto the ground like a mortal wound.  I wonder and fear too that it was the last time I would drive him.  You can say that it’s just a truck and logically I agree, but we had a lot of adventures with that truck.  That truck was part of some of the best and worst camping trips we’ve ever taken, and part of the memories.

I am sorry for such a sad post.  I keep trying to find a way to go funny/amusing with it but it’s still too fresh.  Several people mentioned that everything happens for a reason, and that perhaps we were not meant to go on a trip next week.  Maybe something will happen that will allow me to agree with that.  Probably we’ll never know…..

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

